Obama Supports DREAM Act on “Piolín por la mañana”

obama y piolin

Last week, President Obama went back to the “Piolín por la mañana” Spanish-language radio show, fulfilling his earlier promise to continue a dialogue with the Latino community through the extremely popular show.  During the interview, he pledged his support for the DREAM Act. You can read excerpts from the interview in Spanish and English below.

Courtesy of the NYSYLC blog:

Entrevista de Piolin con el Presidente Obama, sobre DREAM ACT:

Por otro lado, Sotelo le preguntó a Obama también sobre el Dream Act, un proyecto de ley que en el pasado se ha estacando en el Congreso pero que, de ser aprobado, otorgaría becas y otros beneficios académicos a estudiantes indocumentados que quieren asistir a la universidad en Estados Unidos.

“Yo respaldo el Dream Act en un 100 por ciento”, reiteró Obama. “De hecho estoy comprometido con la educación… Mi administración ha elevado la cantidad de dinero que se invierte en la educación; porque quiero que más estudiantes tengan la oportunidad de ir a la universidad, que dispongan de más recursos, becas y préstamos”.

Refiriéndose específicamente a los estudiantes indocumentados, el presidente expresó, “en estos momentos estos alumnos son hijos de Estados Unidos y es muy probable que permanecerán en este país”.

Obama señaló que Estados Unidos tiene que tomar una gran decisión: Hacer “que se queden en este país sin educación o trabajar para que aprovechen las oportunidades académicas que ofrece este país”.

El presidente argumentó que más allá de crear los mecanismos legales para que los estudiantes indocumentados puedan acceder a la universidad, había que desarrollar un plan para que éstos puedan trabajar de forma legal en Estados Unidos una vez se gradúen.
“Es necesario que obtengamos al menos 60 votos en el Senado y una mayoría en la Cámara de Representantes… Esto es algo que aún tenemos que lograr”, indicó Obama.

Translation in English

Interview with Presidente Obama about the DREAM ACT..

Piolin also asked Obama about the Dream Act, a legislation that in the past has gotten stuck in Congress, but if passed will grant sholarships and other academic benefits to undocumented student who want to enroll in college (Editor Note: This last sentence about the Dream Act is not entirely accurate)

“I support the Dream Act 100 percent”, Obama reiterated. “In fact, I am fully committed to education, my administration has raised funds to be invested in education because I want more students to have the opportunity to go to college and have better access to resources such as scholarships and loans”

Referring to undocumented student specifically, the president expressed “in these times, these students are sons and daughters of the Untied States and is very likely that they will remain in this country”

Obama pointed out that the US needs to make a great decision: Asking them “to remain in this country without an education or a right to work without taking advantage of the academic opportunities that this country offers.”

The president argued that it is necessary to create legal mechanisms for undocumented students to enroll in college but also to create a plan for these students to go to work once they graduate.

“It is necessary that we obtain at least 60 votes in the Senate and a mayority in the House of Representatives. This is something we still have to achieve,” Obama indicated.

8 responses to “Obama Supports DREAM Act on “Piolín por la mañana”

  1. que bueno que Obama nos apolle
    para que mi esposo regresa pronto
    el esta en mexico esperando la respuesta
    de immigration
    7203279268 trato y trato de hablar con piolin
    y no me puedo comunicar es como si el no fuese real

  2. segundo intento, que bueno que Obama nos
    apolle, para que mi esposo regrese pronto a casa
    el esta en mexico esperando la respuesta de immigration, nosotros vivimos en denver co.
    yo trato y trato de comunicarme con piolin todas las mananas pero me ha sido imposible es como si no fuese real
    720 327 9268

  3. Veronica Torres

    Hi, my name is Veronica, and this is not a comment but a brief summary of the tragedy that has just happened to me and my family. My husband, Atanasio Torres, was murdered in Cuidad Juarez on August 20, 2009. There was no apparent reason for why he was murdered, he was a hard working man try to make ends meet for us since we had been living in Juarez for the past 2 years. He entered the U.S. illegaly and I as a U.S. citizen and being his wife for the past 6 years was trying to get a perment for us to live in the U.S. Unfortanetly our pardon was denied. We didn’t understand why if we had tried our best to do everything the right way. Unfortanetly my life will never be the same again, we had so many plans and dreams together and now his gone. I don’t know why or who but I do want someone to hear my store so that other couples that are living in Mexico waiting for a perment won’t have to go through the pain and dissappoint our family has gone through. If who ever is in charged of reading this e-mails can please let Piolen read it and have him contact me. I’ve tried getting through in his morning show but he gets so many calls that I haven’t been able to get connected. But if someone can please get in contact with me, I will be very appreciated. My cell # is 432-202-6542. Thank You.

  4. Veronica Torres

    Hi, my name is Veronica, and this is not a comment but a brief summary of the tragedy that has just happened to me and my family. My husband, Atanasio Torres, was murdered in Cuidad Juarez on August 20, 2009. There was no apparent reason for why he was murdered, he was a hard working man trying to make ends meet for us since we had been living in Juarez for the past 2 years. He entered the U.S. illegaly and I as a U.S. citizen and being his wife for the past 6 years was trying to get a perment for us to live in the U.S. Unfortanetly our pardon was denied. We didn’t understand why if we had tried our best to do everything the right way. Unfortanetly my life will never be the same again, we had so many plans and dreams together and now his gone. I don’t know why or who commited the murder but I do want someone to hear my store so that other couples that are living in Mexico waiting for a perment won’t have to go through the pain and dissappointment our family has gone through. If who ever is in charged of reading this e-mails can please let Piolen read it and have him contact me. I’ve tried getting through in his morning show but he gets so many calls that I haven’t been able to get connected. But if someone can please get in contact with me, It will be very appreciated. My cell # is 432-202-6542. Thank You.

  5. el estudio es algo bueno y estudiantes indocumentados como yo que lo aprobechamos al maximo….no podemos seguir en la universidad por falta de recursos….se nos niega el trabajo…y no se dan cuenta que estudiamos para trabajar aki…bye…no genero problemas…

  6. hola este no es un comentario quisiera saber si me pueden ayudar yo estoy aqui en USA me vine de guatemala hace unos meses pero mi mama y mis hermanos y mi mama y mi hija estan alla en guatemala todavia y estan sufriendo y mis hermanos son nacidos aqui en USA y no se pueden venir solo porque mi mama no puede no tiene papeles y los estaba arreglando pero los dejo a medias y quisiera que me ayudaran a legalizarla para que mis hermanos se vengan no estan estudiando y asi como hoy no han comido y estan sufriendo junto con mi hija nacio alla pero la puedo hacer ciudadana yo tengo 17 anos y mis hermanas y hermano son menores que yo y siendo de aqui y solo por esos papeles ayudenme porfavor

  7. Karina Hernandez

    Hi, My name is Karina I am glad that Obama supports the immigrants. The immigrants are hard working people that need to have a good education and good careers. The immigrants here in United States need that oportunity that everyone has. Yes were humans everyones is, and I believe that if the people that are U.S. citizen were where the immigrants are now they would want the help the immigrants want. The citizens should put them selves in the same shoes that the immigrants are at. Also, they should think twice and try to help the immigrants. The immigrants have roots here they have a family and they see a future here in the USA the reason they are here is so they can become US citizens. Please just help them they need this and its not fair how the immigrants work as hard as they can and they also get the jobs that the americans dont want thats the only reason some americans give jobs to the immigrants is because the americans dont want to work. If the americans dont want to work they should give a chance to the immigrants. Well I just hope that they let this pass on and help the immigrants.

  8. pedro rosario

    pedro rosario ,yo quiero dirigirme al senado por que no se hace un programa para analisar la cituasion de los imduconmentado , y se puede hacer dos cosas, queson , los inlegales ponerle 3.000 dolares por la residencia . y a los residentes quieren ser ciudadano, 1500 ] en tres millones de personas . se puede recaudar fondos para veneficio para otra actividad .siempre y cuando las personas califiquen. el mejor presidente obama

Leave a Reply

