Op-Ed: Real Change Happens Off-Line

The Center for Community Change’s Sally Kohn wrote an op-ed piece yesterday for the Christian Science Monitor. In it, she discusses the Millenial generation (those born between 1980 and 1995) and their tendency towards a hyper-individualized approach to social change. Because of recent advances in technology have, in a sense, made the world smaller, Millenials are both more interconnected globally and more isolated individually.

Today’s American young people feel a deep connection to people in Tibet and Darfur, want to hold corporations accountable to environmental standards and worker justice, and value the role of government in meeting our shared needs. Yet the Internet tools that help Millennials appreciate our interconnectedness may actually erode the community values they seek.

As a “Millennial” myself (I’m still unsure how I feel about that label) the piece is thought-provoking and I think it may hold a certain amount of truth, though I’m not sure that I agree with a blanket generalization of myself and my peers.

Click here to read the full piece.


Leave a Reply

